Skateboard….

December 7, 2010 § Leave a comment

One afternoon, I received an email with “can I give you a skateboard?” in the subject line.

I opened this email with some trepidation, but from this quirky beginning, an artwork was born. Piero, who was organising an event for DC Shoes, had been to Plaything and seen some of my work. Then came the email and I met up with him for a coffee.

I did receive a skateboard; itself a very nice piece of wood without any wheels. I was asked to make an artwork that was to be exhibited at the launch of the new range of streetwear by Singaporean artist SBTG for DC Shoes. The deck would be shown, along with 19 others, at the launch, and a winner would be decided and they would receive merchandise. I didn’t end up winning the merchandise, which I didn’t mind, since it was the whole process of painting on a skateboard deck that fascinated me. It is as close as I’ll ever get to a skateboard, since in real life, I’m incredibly clumsy. The deck now has pride of place on a shelf in my studio.

All images Copyright 2017, Aleksandra Petrovic

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Skateboard…. at Aleksandra Petrovic.

meta

